Affiliated Faculty

Affiliated faculty for the MSEI are affiliated with the Departments of Physics, Chemistry, and Earth & Planetary Sciences in the Division of Physical and Biological Sciences and the Department of Electrical Engineering in the Baskin School of Engineering.
Holger Schmidt
  • Title
    • Professor
    • Narinder Kapany Chair of Optoelectronics
    • Asociate Dean for Research
  • Division Baskin School of Engineering
  • Department
    • Electrical and Computer Engineering Department
    • Baskin School of Engineering
  • Phone
  • Email
  • Website
  • Office Location
    • Jack Baskin Engineering Building, N/A
    • Baskin Engineering, Room 245
  • Mail Stop SOE2
  • Faculty Areas of Expertise Electrical Engineering; Optics; Physics; DNA, RNA, Proteins; Material Science; Bioengineering

Summary of Expertise

Optofluidics, integrated biophotonics, single molecule analysis on a chip; nanoscale devices

Research Interests

  • Optofluidics
  • Atom photonics
  • Hollow-core photonics for biomedicine and quantum optics
  • Nano-magnetism
  • Nano-magneto-optics
  • Spintronics
  • Single-particle spectroscopy
  • Ultrafast optics
  • Integrated nanopore devices

Biography, Education and Training

  • Holger Schmidt received an M.S. degree in physics from the University of Stuttgart, Germany, in 1994, and M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in electrical and computer engineering from the University of California, Santa Barbara, in 1995 and 1999, respectively. After serving as a postdoctoral fellow with the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, he joined the University of California, Santa Cruz, in 2001. He is a Professor of Electrical Engineering and holds the Narinder Singh Kapany Chair of Optoelectronics. He serves as Associate Dean for Research for the School of Engineering and Director of the W.M. Keck Center for Nanoscale Optofluidics. Prof. Schmidt has authored over 400 publications and several book chapters in various fields of optics. He recently edited the first Handbook of Optofluidics published with CRC Press. His research interests include single molecule detection and analysis in optofluidic devices, hollow-core waveguide photonics, atomic spectroscopy on a chip, nano-magneto-optics, and spintronics. He received an NSF Career Award in 2002 and a Keck Futures Nanotechnology Award in 2005. He was elected Fellow of the Optical Society of America in 2014 and Fellow of the IEEE in 2017.